Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio has anounced the 2024 inductees for the annual ceremony which will take place on October 19th at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland.

The event will stream live on Disney+, and will be available the following day on Hulu. An edited version will be broadcast on ABC at a later date.

The inductees for the performer category will be Mary J. Blige, Peter Frampton, Cher, Kool and the Gang, Foreigner, Dave Matthews Band, A Tribe Called Quest, and Ozzy Osbourne who was previously inducted as part of Black Sabbath in 2006.

Inductees for the Musical Excellence Award are MC5, Dionne Warwick, Norman Whitfield, who wrote several hit songs of the late 60’s and 70’s, and the late Jimmy Buffett, who passed away last September 1st.

For the Musical Influence Award the inductees are Willie Mae “Big Mama” Thornton (1926-1984) (the first person to record Hound Dog in 1952), and British blues musicians John Mayall (b. 1933) and Alexis Korner (1928-1984).

Receiving the Ahmet Ertegun Award will be Suzanne de Passe, a Motown executive who assisted the Jackson 5 in their careers and who signed on the Commodores which included Lionel Richie. She worked with multiple other performers at Motown and was involved in the production of some songs written by co-inductee Norman Whitfield. She is also co-chairwoman of de Passe Jones Entertainment Group, which produced several Motown-centric movies and tv specials as well as the western mini-series Lonesome Dove and the Streets of Laredo.

Nominated but not inducted this year were Sade, Lenny Kravitz, Mariah Carey, Sinead O’Connor, Jane’s Addiction, Oasis and the duo Eric B & Rakim.


  • No categories